Resch’s Bakery – Columbus, OH

103_1044

It’s been well documented here, and elsewhere around Columbus, that we are without a doubt, a donut-loving city. In the one year that I’ve been writing this blog, I have reviewed no less than a half-dozen Central Ohio bakeries and donut shops, and honestly, I haven’t even begun to scratch the surface. But you cannot, and should not, carry on any conversation concerning our favorite little glazed and filled pastries without talking about Resch’s Bakery. For over 100 years, Resch’s has provided high-quality, fresh-baked goods to our community, and folks have undoubtedly been frequenting this hometown, family owned bakery for generations. And from what I’ve seen, they’re not slowing down anytime soon…

103_1032

I recently made the trip to the small shop on the East side, which shares a solid-brick strip mall with a little mom & pop pharmacy. It’s a quaint shop, decorated in neutral tones with modern fixtures, and accented in dark wood. When I arrived, there was only one other customer in the shop, however within minutes, the shop filled with nearly a dozen people, all waiting to be served their favorite treats. Resch’s uses the “take a number” method – if the shop is full when you arrive, you grab a numbered ticket off of one of the racks, and wait for your number to be called. It seemed like an antique way of doing things, but it worked…and I’m sure they’ve been doing it that way for decades. Thankfully, I beat the crowd, so I got first dibs…

103_1033

One of the first things you notice when you walk in, are the racks in the middle of the room filled with cookies and pastries. Here’s one loaded with cookies of all sorts – chocolate chip, oatmeal raisin, peanut butter, sugar and more.

103_1034

Up front are three large, glass cases filled with donuts off all kinds. Resch’s offers a fairly wide variety of some jazzed-up, classic style donuts, but they serve much more than that. The cases were also filled with everything from brownies to bagels to homemade soft pretzels. With people coming and going and trying to place orders, it was a little difficult to photograph all three cases, but I did manage to snap a shot of this one to give you an idea of how they’re presented.

103_1035

Some goodies that really jumped out at me were the HUGE, powdered cream horns…

103_1036

And the seasonal-favorite, pumpkin donuts!!

103_1038

Here’s a shot of the fresh bagels and homemade soft pretzels I referred to earlier. On the day I visited, the bagels came in several varieties, and the pretzels came in the large, traditional style, as well as pretzel nuggets.

103_1039

The cheese, blackberry & cherry filled Danish made my mouth water!!

103_1040

And take a look at these giant, glazed donuts. They’re the size of a paper plate!! Next to those were the apple fritters. Resch’s makes their apple fritters unlike any place I’ve ever seen. Usually you find the large, round fritter…but these were more of a fold-and-cut donut that had the pieces of apple and cinnamon tucked between the folds.

103_1037

As I mentioned, Resch’s is also famous for their delicious cakes. You can custom order them ahead of time for your special occasion, and Resch’s will have it ready for you to pick up. They also have this case full of fresh, pre-made cakes that can be customized with messages to fit your need. Don’t forget the cupcakes on top!!

103_1041

Here’s a shot of several different styles of bread that they bake on a daily basis. While I was there, I chatted with a lady who told me that she has been coming here once a week for over 10 years just for their bread and rolls. She said she hasn’t eaten grocery store-bought bread since she found Resch’s.

103_1042

I ordered up a half-dozen donuts to go, but only because I was trying to show some self-control. I could have easily tried dozens of tasty treats if my conscience, or my wallet would have let me. I picked out a couple of cream horns, some apple fritters, and a couple of those yummy pumpkin donuts.

103_1050

I don’t have to tell you how this story turns out. I mean, heck…they’re donuts. Everyone loves donuts (especially my 7-year old)!!

Seriously…go there. You won’t be disappointed.

Resch’s Bakery is located at 4061 E. Livingston Ave, Columbus, OH 43227 (Map). Their hours are Monday – Friday, 7:00 am – 7:00 pm, and Saturday, 6:30 am – 6:00 pm. For more info, check out them out on Facebook, or browse their website.

Resch's Bakery on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Resch’s Bakery – Columbus, OH

  1. Gretchen Resch Kramer says:

    My grandfather started the bakery in 1912. My father, brother and his son and daughter have continued the amazing quality with hard work and dedication. I felt famous growing up since everyone in the city knew Resch’s and still do today.

  2. lisa I says:

    hello I’m trying to find the Original 1st Resch’s address ..it was also on E. Livingston nearest Children’s Hospital ? Thank you .

  3. rjc says:

    i carried papers to the original bakery on livingston and champion.this was in the 60s.got donuts and chocolate milk every morning.this is the best bakery in central ohio,the state of ohio,the u s a and the entire world!my birthday wish is a reschs cake.yellow with white icing.my favorite birthday gift

Leave a comment